NaNo Update 2011

16 Nov

Welp, November’s already half gone. According to the peeps over at NaNoWriMo, I should be over 25,000 already.

I’m not, of course. As of 11/16/2011, I’m sitting pretty on 24,000 words, which is pretty damn good for me.

This month has been pretty weird. I mean, I’ve been (sort-of) keeping up with the word count, which is super unusual. I’m the biggest procrastinator in the world, I should be 10K behind or something. (Not that I’m speaking from previous experience or anything.) Then again, I had a huge push this past weekend and cranked out 7K over Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. Bleh, my poor hands.

I’ve already run out of ink in two pens. Pens I specifically bought for NaNo. Egads.

My story this year is kind of aimless. I haven’t stumbled across a plot yet, but I think that’s mostly because I abandoned my focus. Per Stoltz’s suggestion, I tried to write a horror story but then I freaked myself out so much my heart was racing and I couldn’t write for two days. Which is great if I wanted to be the next Stephen King, except for the fact that he’s a prolific bastard and I had to leave my manuscript alone for two days to compose myself. And since I’m kind of on a deadline… no more horror story. I’m pretty much writing words down and hoping I trip across something that will drive my next 25K or so.

Blargh. I’ll make it across the finish line, never fear, but I don’t think I’ll be enjoying this year’s attempt as much as my previous ones. Oh well. There’s always next year.

Keep track of my progress on the National Novel Writing Month website, here.

2 Responses to “NaNo Update 2011”

  1. Karen Luksich November 17, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    So do you write by hand, then type it into your computer? How else do you keep track of your word count? It seems like a monumental task for one month. I would be planning for a whole year trying to develop a plot. It sounds like you put a lot of pressure on yourself, but maybe that’s what you like about NaNoWriMo. :)

    • Jane November 17, 2011 at 1:12 am #

      Nope, I’m just writing by hand this year – typing it into a computer would be exhausting. I’ve got a rough average of how many words per page for when the timing gets dicey, but mostly I count up by hand. It’s a great procrastination technique and a good way for me to rest my writing hand and still feel productive. The whole point of NaNo (for me, anyways) is to let go of the obsessive plotting and editing and just get down to the nitty-gritty of writing. You have to start with words on a page to get somewhere – a novel doesn’t enter the world like Athena from Zeus, fully grown and perfect.

Leave a Reply

