NaNoWriMo 2011 Round Up

30 Nov

Another year, another NaNoWriMo. I have to say, it’s been a weird November. I was never more than 10k behind the recommended daily total, which is pretty rare, and there was no scramble at the last minute for thousands and thousands of words, which is unheard of. I mean, I only had 1400 words to write today. It was kind of freaking me out and I agonized over these last thousand or so words, you guys. It was like pulling teeth.

As I mentioned earlier, I wasn’t too fond of this year’s manuscript but continued to plug away at something I will never look twice at. There were a couple of really good moments and a few inspired plot swerves, but mostly it could be set on fire and would probably improve the English Literature gene pool, so to speak. What was worse was that I had my big showdown with the villain somewhere around 38K and had to fill about 8K of filler, which was again, painful. Next time I’ll do another topic; I tried for a steampunkish theme last year as well and it went awry both times. I think I’ll leave the steampunk to Kaja and Phil Foglio from now on.

NaNoWriMo is a fun experience, but this year it seemed a little, I don’t know, boring? I think maybe I need to challenge myself next year, switch things up somehow. I may write be the Queen of Improv, but methinks next year is the year I switch to serious hardcore writing, with outlines and stuff. Maybe. (Probably not.)

To all of those crazy kids trying to finish up, good luck and happy noveling!

 

NaNo 2011 by the numbers:

Pages Written: 150
Notebooks filled: 1.5
Pens killed: 4
Total word count: 50, 281
Hours spent writing: 64
Average words per hour: 786

 

My profile on NaNoWriMo, here. You can see the semi-accurate chart of my progress there.

One Response to “NaNoWriMo 2011 Round Up”

  1. dorothyanneb November 30, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Hey, for fun, why not stretch yourself to the 3daynovel? Your steampunk stuff would fit in well there – check it out – http://www.3daynovel.com. I’ve done it several times myself and it is like Nano on steroids and great if you have a bit of attention deficit like I do…Or maybe it’s all the caffeine…off to write some more before the deadline…

Leave a Reply

