Translating

6 Jan

I’m working on a translation today. Why I volunteered to do this, I can’t even… the hells was I thinking? I’m about two-thirds of a way through “Sexual Harassment is a Gender Equity Issue”. I should probably be done by tomorrow

My last translation job was for my senior thesis, wherein I translated a 20,000 character science fiction story. It was about genetically engineered rats. And the gender imbalance between men and women in modern China due to the one-child policy, but mostly about rats. It took me about three months of concerted effort, with fevered eleventh-hour revisions and review with help from friends and family. So when the guy from China Development Brief (CDB) gave me this article I was kind of like, 2000 words? No biggie. And it really isn’t terrible, to be honest. I know most of the words, thanks to third-year Chinese. (Somewhere, Dr. Wang feels incredibly vindicated for making us learn things like “gender equality” and “sexual harassment”.) It’s just the fact that I’ve been mostly lazing about and putting the nose back to the grindstone is a little shocking. Boo frickety hoo, right?

It’s almost enjoyable, getting back into the hang of translating. Clearly, I’m a crazy person. I’ve got some new tea and a few scones – let’s do this thing.

 

(I’ll link to the article when it’s finished. After I’m through with it, the article has to go through another two rounds of editing before it gets published. Yay for redundancy and editors!)

One Response to “Translating”

  1. cathi green January 7, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    Hey Jane…. welcome home? ha. Saw your mom at ORD on a trip through & it was swell to catch up with her. She said you are trying to figure out a future (who isn’t?) Recently I’ve been hearing a bunch of stuff on NPR about the us military changing the focus to Asia, especially China. Here’s a recent article from CNN:
    http://www.cnn.com/2012/01/06/world/asia/china-us-strategy/index.html

    Maybe you could send your resume to Obaba or someone at the Pentagon. I don’t recommend joining the military, but you could get a job as a civilian- maybe as a translator? I bet it would be super cool with lots of fun travel opportunities. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

