It’s Like Windows95 All Over Again

9 Jan

I lost two days of work on my translation this weekend. LibreOffice, the open source alternative to Microsoft Word, has a recognized bug where it will crash every time you hit save after futzing around with columns. It crashed and lost two days worth of translating. I was almost done. I had two fucking paragraphs left.

Look, LibreOffice, I get that you’re open source. I appreciate you trying to give people an alternative to Microsoft Word or whatever the hell Linux users write with. But this only works if you work. And Ubuntu? You’re not off the hook, either. You launched Natty and Oneiric with a known fuckup. TWO DAYS OF WORK. That’s not a minor bug, ladies and gentleman. There’s a fix, but gosh, wouldn’t it have been lovely if one of those pesky Updates that you send every three days had included one for this? And the temp backup only works if it comes preselected. You guys promised it would be better on Ubuntu than Windows, but I’m freezing/crashing at the same rate, I can’t play any of my Steam games, and for some freaking reason, I have data recovery issues? What gives? I’m not a coder, I barely make the Terminal work. Give me some guidance here.

As usual, XKCD gets exactly what I mean.

3 Responses to “It’s Like Windows95 All Over Again”

  1. cathi January 11, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Oh Jane, How frustrating! Any chance you could get an Apple computer? Of course I am an unabashed Apple geek and swear they NEVER have problems. Good luck!

  2. Jon January 16, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    Jane,

    Can’t you get Office 2010 through your school. I picked up a copy from the IUN bookstore last year for $20 for the disks. It was free to download. Mom has my disks right now.

    • Jane January 16, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

      I could, but I run Ubuntu 10.4 on my HP, so I use a bunch of open-source programs as a general rule. Usually, it doesn’t give me any troubles. Unfortunately, this was just one of those times.

Leave a Reply

