I’m Back!

13 Feb

Well, everyone, I’m back. How’ve you been? It’s been a long and busy month for me. My Dad visited. I went to Australia with my Mom. There was even a side-trip into Thailand, due to the vagaries of fate and space available airline travel as my overnight layover in Bangkok turned into a four day visit. Yeah. Wasn’t planning that one, but hey. And then, in order to get home, I had to buy a ticket on China Southern from Bangkok to Guangzhou, leading to the pressing question after I landed, “So, uh, where exactly am I? Is Guangzhou the city or the province? Maybe I should look at a map. Yeah, that would be a good idea.” Turns out that Guangzhou is in the south-east of China, just north of Hong Kong and Shenzhen, and was originally known to the West as Canton. The more you know. (Don’t give me that look. I was tired and desperate to get out of Bangkok by that point.)

For the next two weeks or so, my posts will be mostly travel centered, so if you have a pathological fear of, oh say wombats, now’s the time to click away. (And really, wombats? We’re no longer friends, internet-land stranger.)

As for right now, how about some more panda photos, courtesy of the trip Dad and I took to the Chengdu Giant Panda Breeding Reserve last month? Since it was rather chilly out (in the low 40s, I think), the pandas were exceptionally chipper and active. Protip: go to the zoo in the cool weather and drizzles, people. The animals are way more interesting when they aren’t lying there, wishing for air conditioning.

Here’s a medium-sized one, nomming on bamboo.

This little guy kept trying to climb up the rope upside down. It was too cute for words. 

These three were pacing in circles around the entrances to the cages.  The little one kept bugging her big sister.

This was one of the fully grown males they had on site.  Very big dude, but they get fed quite well here.

You know, for someone whose only natural predator is the very
nearly extinct snow leopard, you’d think red pandas wouldn’t be so rare.

As Dad and I were wandering around the zoo, we heard a bird call.  Specifically, we heard Kevin’s birdcall, from “Up“.  Since I had just watched the movie, I freaked out.  It took a while for us to realize that the call we were hearing was a peacock (left center) wooing his lovely peahen (upper right).  You clever Pixar animators, you.

4 Responses to “I’m Back!”

  1. cathi green February 14, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    Jane…. what was the cheap hotel you stayed in near the BKK airport? Clint is going for 4 days next month pre-Bali where I am meeting him. He arrives about midnight and will need a cheap room. Thanks!
    Love your photos!!

    • Jane February 14, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

      Just sent you an email. Bali sounds like it will be a lot of fun!

  2. cathi green February 14, 2012 at 2:25 am #

    Hey …. just noticed it’s already Valentine’s Day where you are! Happy day!

  3. Dad February 14, 2012 at 4:35 am #

    Can you put all the panda photos someplace so that I can download them — I reallly really want a Panda photo for my computer wallpaper.

Leave a Reply

