Taronga Zoo

27 Feb

Don’t worry, internet, this week is the last of my Australia posts. After a quick detour to Bangkok, we’ll be back to me complaining about Chengdu in no time at all!

Taronga Zoo was on my list of must-see’s from the very beginning. I like going to zoos. The sheer variety in the animal kingdom is astounding and it’s cool to see how different creatures adapt to different environments. That’s not to say that zoos don’t have their problems, like the issue of domestication, small animal enclosures, and animal mistreatment, (Sea World, I’m looking disapprovingly at you.) but for the most part zoos are being run by good people who genuinely care about the animals in their care. Taronga Zoo is one of those.

To get to Taronga Zoo, Mom and I bough the ferry / zoo entry tickets from Circular Quay. It’s only a twelve minute ride across the harbour to the zoo. It took much longer to get from the ferry terminal to the sky rail, which dumps you off at the top of the park.

We went to Taronga Zoo on a cloudy, sort of wet day. This was a good thing, as the cooler temperatures meant that the animals were much more active and doing interesting things. It also made all the walking around that much more comfortable. A little rain isn’t the worst thing in the world.

Clearly, Taronga Zoo knows exactly how to make birds more interesting and relevant to me.

Echidna, another weird monotreme. Related to the platypus. 

This bird has a neon yellow beak. I want it.

We all have days like that, Mr. Gray Kangaroo.

Why hello there Tasmanian devil.

Papa Gorilla is Not Amused.

Ring-tailed lemurs always look surprised to me. It’s the eyes.

Right about here it stopped drizzling and started downpouring. We could handle the slight misting, but not the buckets of water. This was the point where we caved and bought the always stylish rain ponchos emblazoned with the Taronga Zoo platypus mascot. Worth it.

happy elephant in the rain

baby elephants!

baby sumatran tiger

snow leopards are cool characters.

A meerkat on the lookout.

A young chimpanzee, amused at the weird apes on the other side of the glass.

Giraffes are cool.

“Yeah man, the view from my place is amazing.”

4 Responses to “Taronga Zoo”

  1. Susan February 28, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    That’s it I am coming to visit you.

    love
    susan

  2. Hayley Rare March 1, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    Looks like a lovely day out, I’ll have to visit Taronga Zoo now when I’m there next summer. Thanks for this post.

  3. cathi green March 3, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Just curious Jane… what camera do you carry? I have a cheaper waterproof fuji I will be bringing on our Bali trip, leaving the more expensive Canon Rebel at home due to it’s fragility (the lcd screen got cracked in my backpack in Mexico… arghhhhh…. $200 to fix!) Your pics look pretty decent.

    • Jane March 4, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

      I use a Panasonic Lumix. It’s the pretty idiot-proof, point-and-shoot kind of camera. It’s taken a beating since I swiped it from Dad, but I’m sure I can get another year’s worth of use out of it.

Leave a Reply

