Australia Round Up

2 Mar

So. I could probably stretch my trip to Australia into another couple of posts, but that would pushing it. Instead, today is going to be the catch-all for those interesting things about Sydney that didn’t quite make it into a post of their own.

This was on our wine tour adventure. It was interesting and I’m glad that we did it, but I don’t think I’ll ever do it again. Too much wine, not enough food, and I felt vaguely ill consuming that much alcohol before noon.

Every Sunday, there’s a street market at the Rocks. Really cool stuff, I bought lots that I probably shouldn’t have, and enjoyed wandering around up there. It’s a picturesque little neighborhood and I love it. On the right, a view of the Harbour Bridge from the Rocks.

I’m not becoming a birder, I think they’re just cool. I don’t think I have it in me to get all neurotic about keeping lists.  I mean, I could, but it’d be an effort.  That being said, Australia had some weirdly cool and common birds. Below is a stork, I think.  I have no idea about the one above, but the flowers are cool.  (As Mom watched me agonize over getting this shot, she shook her head and muttered, “Gramma has trained you well”.)

It’s crazy to think that cockatoos are wild birds sometimes.

Tagged wild cockatoos at the Royal Botanical Gardens. Given the low numbers, either these guys are the oldest birds or the stupidest in the flock. The whole flock is pretty accustomed to humans and will hop right on your hand if you have food.

 A cockatoo in motion.

The boar outside the old Sydney Hospital. You’re supposed to rub his nose for good luck, which is why it’s a bright, polished bronze.

Can you believe a bottle of Yellowtail is cheaper in the US than in Australia? I can get the same bottle at Publix in Gainesville for under $6.

Here’s Mom and Kari on the Darling Harbor Bridge. We walked that thing a million times, since Hotel Ibis was just on the other side.

Mom on a boat!

Have you ever seen one of those wildlife shows where the pack of lions tear into some unfortunate grazer? Yeah, it’s kind of like that.

Here we are, at the end of all things.

Love ya, Australia. I can’t wait until I can move there.

Leave a Reply

