I Left My Heart in Tuen Mun

11 Apr

So, I’m back, internet. A full day ahead of time, even. I was going to come back by train, for the sheer novelty of it. After all, the average Chinese person travels by train when going around the country and wasn’t I all about authenticity? So thus, I stood in line at the Shenzhen train office, waiting patiently for my turn and when I got to the counter, there were no hard sleepers left. Or the much more expensive soft sleepers. The only seats left were the hard seats. For a 32 hour ride.

There’s being authentic and then there’s sheer stupidity.

Needless to say, I ponied up the extra hundred bucks for the flight back to Chengdu. Mea culpa. I’ll take the train on my next trip. Also? The internet is lying about the current going rate for long-distance train seats. I had a bit of sticker shock when the agent reeled off the ticket prices.

ANYWAYS, the previous bit, you know, hanging out in Hong Kong? That was a lot of fun. I hung out with Amy and her family. Her aunt and uncle live over in Tuen Mun, which isn’t exactly downtown Hong Kong. More beaches than skyscrapers out there in the New Territories. Yeah, life is real hard, living in a tropical island paradise.

It was a pretty low-key week, to be honest. I spent a lot of time hanging out, reading, comparing knitting styles with M., and helping out a little at their new shop. M. and F. just opened a Dymock’s in Gold Coast and it was interesting to see the other side of the counter, as it were.

I also participated in the national pastime of Hong Kong*. That was fun. I even bought some black ballet flats, which I’ve been looking around for. Huzzah for large shoe sizes!

All in all, I had a really great time in Hong Kong, mostly thanks to Amy, M., and F. Thanks, guys!

*Shopping. They’re hardcore about their malls in HK.

Leave a Reply

