The Great Firewall

25 May

Yesterday, my VPN died an ignoble and inglorious death. Thankfully, after a bit of computer necromancy, I managed to resurrect it today. But for one whole day, I had to deal with the Chinese internet, and boy, was that a pain.

For one thing, I had forgotten how much the Great Firewall censors.

For those in the audience who aren’t computer geeks, a VPN (or virtual private network) is what allows me to surf the net without those petty restrictions the CCP thinks should be available to the general public. Basically, I have a little program on my laptop that, courtesy of the University of Florida, makes my internet connection believe it’s sitting in Library West. Technically, it’s meant for accessing library resources off-campus. In practice, it means I can get to the sites I want, without paying money for another VPN service.*

Yesterday, I was reminded quite abruptly of what the Great Firewall believes is inappropriate. Facebook, Youtube, tumblr. No dice. Blogger, IMDB, Livejournal. Gone. THIS SITE ITSELF. No access to WordPress at all – so almost no blog update. Half of those random links you go to? Gone. It was infuriating. And the sites you could access? Incredibly slow load times. Like, I think we had a dial-up modem in the 90s that was faster.

On the other hand, Baidu and Tudou were practically lightning speed, even for videos. Well played, Great Firewall. Well played.

 

 

For more on this topic, you should read James Fallows’s report on the Great Firewall, found here. It’s an oldie but a goodie.

 

*To my credit, I have used it to access library resources while not on campus. How do you think I did any research at all here? Baidu? Don’t make me laugh.

One Response to “The Great Firewall”

  1. Jon May 26, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Hello Jane,

    When are you coming back to the states?

    Jon

Leave a Reply

