Mountains

21 Sep

Hey all. I know it’s been a while since my last real post. I spent a nice and lazy summer with my friends and family, enjoying life back in the States. You’d think that after a year in China, I would be done with the whole “living abroad” thing.

Yeah, about that.

I’ve found that lines from the Lord of the Rings movies are always applicable to daily life. (Except the bit about a dark lord and a ring, but you know what I mean.) In the first movie, Bilbo Baggins is explaining to Gandalf why he wants to leave behind his comfortable existence at home. “I want to see mountains again, Gandalf. Mountains.”

After two months at home, I was ready to see mountains again. Or, in this case, Europe. I’ve only been to Italy once. I want to see more of the world, while I’m still young and unencumbered. I’m a student of history. Compared to any point previous, the barriers to traveling abroad are pretty freaking low. Let me put it this way: it used to take a sailboat two months to get from NYC to London, and you routinely lost a few passengers along the way. In comparison, I can get on a flight from Washington Dulles and land in Paris a mere eight hours later. Commercial air travel is an under-rated miracle of the modern age.

So I’m off to Paris, to see the city of lights and learn what it’s like to live in a slightly less foreign country. Do I speak French? Not really, no. I figure it can’t be much harder than Chinese, although it might take some getting used to using conjugations again. My goals are to see a few sights, go to a couple museums, and eat my body weight in French bread. It’s all about easy, reachable goals.

 

If you’ve got any suggestions for my time there, I’m all ears!

One Response to “Mountains”

  1. Karen September 21, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    Wanderlust, you have a new name and it is Jane.
    Love you,
    Gramma

Leave a Reply

