Sevres

26 Sep

Now, some of you might be wondering how things are going here in France.

I’m doing an au pair gig for a family in the Parisian suburbs. The main difference from American suburbs appears to be that Sevres used to be an actual town before the urban sprawl from Paris swallowed it up. I’m just south of the Seine and northeast of Versailles.

Sevres (pronounced SEV) is quite honestly adorable. My hometown is downright jealous of the charm and picturesque architecture. Then again, the church here was first built in 875 CE. It’s hard for Long Island to compare. The town is a little hilly, but walkable. There are three bakeries within a ten-minute walking distance, as well as a Carrefor, and a variety of little shops, restaurants, and cafes. I’m already looking forward to trying what they have to offer. There’s even a yarn shop.

The house is surprisingly larger than it looks like from the street. It’s three stories, with a backyard large enough to fit a trampoline and a nice patch of grass. I live on the third floor, which is basically a retro-fitted attic space. The wooden stairs are a little perilous in my socks, but it’s nice having all that space to myself. Well, technically, the main room is S’s playroom, but she’s yet to use it since I arrived. I have a full bathroom up there as well. Very convenient. My only gripe is that the internet doesn’t connect up there, but that’s probably a good thing. It also gets wicked cold at night already, but the down comforter and fleece pajamas do the trick nicely.

I don’t start language class until next week. This week is all about settling in and getting adjusted. I’ve had some miserable jet-lag and slept a minimum 10 hours a night so far. I’d think it would be easier to adjust to a 7 hour difference than 12 or 13 hours, but there you go.

I’ll try to load some pictures next time when I’ve gotten some decent ones.

 

3 Responses to “Sevres”

  1. jodi palmer September 27, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Lucky you to be in Paris. Hope you can still knit. Enjoy Jodi

  2. Dani September 28, 2012 at 5:02 am #

    Glad you are settling in nicely. I am going to google maps you. mwahahaha.

  3. Dad October 1, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Glad to see that you are settiling Have you tried the bakeries yet? Take lots of pictures.

    Love

Leave a Reply

