General Housekeeping

11 Nov

Welp, I’m back on the Continent, where people drive on the correct side of the road. I have a few general details to go over before I get back into the swing of posting.

First: Unless I hear otherwise, I don’t think I’ll do much of a major photo dump of London and Newcastle. For one thing, I took a lot of photos. Mostly of very famous landmarks, though, so you’ve probably already seen them at some point.

Point the second, did anyone notice it took Florida four days to call for Obama? Crazy stuff. I’m paraphrasing Charles Pierce here, but Florida doesn’t need UN election inspectors, it needs an exorcist.

Third: I hope everyone has a lovely Veteran’s Day. Thanks to everyone who served, . Over in the UK, everyone wears red poppies to remember the servicemen and women who died in service. It comes from a famous poem about World War 1, “In Flanders Field”. Basically, the ground was so destroyed by the battling forces that the only thing able to grow afterwards was red poppies. I was by Westminster Abbey when the Poppy Team was setting up memorial crosses and it was pretty sobering.

I’ll see you all tomorrow for the first installment of my UK trip!

Leave a Reply

