Thanksgiving Abroad

26 Nov

This year, I was fortunate enough to celebrate a proper American Thanksgiving with my host family. I like cooking, so spending a day in the kitchen making a Thanksgiving feast was fun rather than sheer drudgery. I’m pleased to report that dinner was a resounding success.

My friend Gabriella came over on Friday for some baking fun: we made a pumpkin pie, an apple pie, and biscuits to freeze. It was yummy and fun.

Gabs putting the finishing touches on the apple pie.

Saturday morning, I wandered downstairs to see the turkey my host parents ordered. The tag read 9 kilos even. It took a while for that to sink in (this was pre-coffee, people) and for me to do the math. We had a 20 pound turkey, ladies and gentleman.

I spent most of the day in the kitchen. Since the turkey needed to be in the oven for five hours, that gave me plenty of time to prep all the other dishes. I ended up making mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, green beans, stuffing, biscuits, and a salad.

My kitchen minions, Gabriella and Clo.

Dinner was held late, as was French custom. Also, their was an important rugby game on in the afternoon, which took precedence. We had a table of ten seated comfortably around the kitchen table.* It was weird, since I was seated at the head of the table as the cook. I never rank high enough for the head of the table.

The turkey, post roasting.

The final spread.

Dinner was lovely. I explained about how our Thanksgiving tradition started to everyone and then we feasted. My host parents had retrieved some truly excellent red wine from their cellar, including one bottle of a 1989 Chateau de Pape, which was much, much better than my six-dollar Yellowtail merlot. All in all, dinner was a grand success, everyone had a great time, and we all retired with our bellies full of good food. And really, isn’t that what Thanksgiving is all about?

*Yeah, that’s right, a 20 lb turkey for 10 people. Let’s just say we’re still eating turkey leftovers.

One Response to “Thanksgiving Abroad”

  1. Karen November 26, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    Your turkey looks fabulous. I’m glad everyone enjoyed themselves. You did good!

Leave a Reply

