Bilingual Bonus

20 Mar

Today in French music, we’re going to look at the rising trend of songs in more than one language. It’s really quite common these days for a song to start in French and then switch to English for the hook. I’m not sure why, maybe to increase their potential audience? I’m not certain this is a viable business strategy. I mean, I don’t know know Korean but I certainly enjoyed “Gangam Style”. Anyways, here’s a few which I think you might like.

First off, the weird one. The first time I heard this song, I though high school had come back to haunt my radio. This is a mash-up of Sean Paul and Simple Plan. Yeah, you read that correctly. SEAN PAUL and SIMPLE PLAN. In French. I don’t even know, you guys.

Simple Plan ft. Sean Paul, “Summer Paradise”


I can’t take this next one seriously either. Apparently, there’s a big cover band called Generation Goldman, which updates old hits by the French singer Goldman. Anyways, this one includes the lines “the heart of a Welsh boy who’s lost his soul” and “I can give you the force of my ancestral pride”. I crack up every time this shows up on the Top Clip shows.

Generation Goldman, “Je te donne”

 

I actually like this last one. This is a remix of Lily Allen’s “22”. The French lyrics complement the original verses and hook, making this a nice little song about how society fucks ladies up. (Spoken by the 23 year old.)

Lily Allen ft. Ours, “22”

One Response to “Bilingual Bonus”

  1. elaine March 24, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    jane,i missed your call the other day. try twice. i can’t phone your computer from my cell.or give me the cell number again. off to return a book. love you, mom

Leave a Reply

