The Louvre, Part Two

5 Apr

the louvre

It’s been a while since I visited the Louvre last year, so when some friends came into town I agreed to go with them. It’s such a huge museum and there’s so much to see; it’s basically impossible to see everything culturally important. In fact, after a while, your brain turns to mush. “Oh look,” you mutter to yourself, “another ‘Assumption of Mary Into Heaven’.” You get exceptionally good at spotting Biblical stories.  (Especially the ones that can be drawn topless, like the story of Jesus and the Adulteress, or anything with Delilah or Bathsheba.)  Finding something inspired by Greek or Roman mythology is like shooting very dumb fish in a very small barrel. You get bored and start noticing how long it takes to walk through a hall. When was the last time you ate, anyways? Maybe we should go to the cafe, you guys.

I call this Museum Fatigue. Some people are cultural marathoners, and can spend days wandering the exhibits. Some people are sprinters, and can be done with a museum in under two hours. I’m somewhere in between the two, but mostly I tap out after three hours. Our group was mixed between sprinters and marathoners, meaning two of us spent a few hours hanging out at the museum cafe talking while the others were getting some culture in. (Hint: I was one of the people at the cafe.)

In the meantime, I did see some cool new things this visit.

Lot and HIs DaughtersThe super sexy Bible story of Lot and his incestuous daughters.

Tower of BabelThe Tower of Babel

old dudeFor some reason, I was really struck by the shading on the robe.

I found my way to the Mesopotamian wing this time, which I had been meaning to go see.  I mean, it still doesn’t compare to the British Museum.  (No one loots like the British did.  Yay colonialism?)  But somehow I missed the Code of Hammurabi.  Clearly an oversight on my part.

winged lionWhat up, Winged Lion?

bas reliefAssyrian bas-relief, I think.

lionActual lion, painted on tiles. I love how blue it is, three thousand years later.

We spent an ungodly amount of time in the French sculpture wing this time around.  I’d like to say it was due to the art, but mostly it was because they had benches and it was a decent meet-up space since it was fairly open. (We found out later that it was a terrible meet-up spot as there are like five other halls designated “French Sculpture”.  Oops.)  Also, it was Sohvi’s favorite.

marieMarie Antoinette, looking better than you.

voltaireVoltaire

Finally, it is impossible to visit the Louvre without saying hi to their most famous lady ever, the Mona Lisa. I was especially American in elbowing people away to take this shot for my friend.  Hi Kate!

kate and mona l.

Leave a Reply

