Old Town

10 May

Stortorget SquareStortorget Square.

Gamla stan is universally recognized as the original site for Stockholm, dating back to the 13th century. Many of the buildings date back to the Renaissance and even the Medieval period (which was 1100s-1500s for Sweden), making it really freaking cool looking.

In recent years, Gamla stan has become something of a major tourist destination. Cruise ships dock nearby and release the horde, bus tours descend, and little old backpackers like myself wander the streets. That’s not to say that Gamla stan is just for the tourists – I saw at leave a half-dozen people walking their dogs when I was there early one morning.

The real star is the cool gothic architecture, the narrow cobblestone pathways, and the truly magnificent views. Everything just looks so interesting. There’s also tons to do. The Nobel Museum, the Royal Palace, Stockholm Cathedral, the House of Nobility, and about eighty-five billion tourist shops, including one on Vikings. (Not going to lie, I almost spent a fortune in that place.) They also have two yarn shops. (I did spend a small fortune there.) I’ll talk more about the Nobel Museum in my next post since it turns out I actually have a ton to say about it.

foutainAn old fountain and an elementary school group.

alleywayA back alley.

A quiet section of Gamla stanA quiet section of Gamla stan.

Gamla stan is supremely walkable, so long as you can walk on hills or cobblestones. After about a week of wandering around Stockholm, my feet still hurt. Protip: Wear shoes with arch support!

statue and fountainAn old bronze statue and a fountain.

3 Responses to “Old Town”

  1. Wong Susie May 10, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    MISS YOU! I love your adventures Jane

  2. Monika Clauberg May 10, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    Thank you for showing a part of Europe to me I have always wanted to visit. You truly have the life I always dreamed when I was a kid. Good for you, Jane. I am so proud of you and the way you approach life.

  3. odilets May 11, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    Great pictures! Looks like a lovely part of the city.
    Gamla Stan is a pretty big neighborhood,considering the amount of places to visit!
    Thank you (:

Leave a Reply

