Gatsby

22 May

I went to see the Great Gatsby this past weekend with a friend. I have to say, it was a definite spectacle. It might have been better in 2D, if only because 3D gives me awful headaches. I really enjoyed how they translated it to the screen. Leonardo DiCaprio was an excellent Jay Gatsby. But the cast almost seemed overshadowed by the beautiful cinematography and the soundtrack.

Ever since I left the theater, I’ve been listening to the soundtrack on repeat. My fave is surprisingly Lana Del Ray’s “Young and Beautiful”. It’s surprising since a) the most emotion I could dredge up for her previous work was meh and b) there’s a Florence + the Machine song on the soundtrack and my love for Florence knows no bounds.

After the jump, some other favorites.

Florence and the Machine, “Over the Love”

 

The xx, “Together”

 

Leave a Reply

